The Best Cream Scone Recipe

scones-2
Sometimes the oldies are the besties! Over the years, I’ve tried several scone recipes (Smitten Kitchen’s Dream Cream Scones, Sweet Savory Life, 101 Cookbooks), but I keep on returning to a hybrid recipe. I like a delicate scone with a very soft crumb, and I find that many recipes are too dense and rich for my taste.

While I like cream scones best, the last time I made this recipe, I included a handful of fresh blueberries. I gently pressed them into the shaped scones before baking. But some of my friends are far more adventurous and they have informed me that the addition of cranberries and chocolate chips are delicious. I imagine a little orange zest couldn’t hurt either.

When I remember, I sometimes brushed the scones with a little bit of cream before sprinkling on the sugar. It gives them a nice golden tan in the oven.
cream scones
YIELDS 12-16 scones

ADAPTED from Sweet Savory Life and Seven Spoons.

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups of flour
  • 1 Tbsp baking powder
  • 4 Tbsp sugar
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 4 Tbsp cold unsalted butter, cut into cubes
  • 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1 egg slightly beaten
  • 1 tsp. of vanilla*
  • 2 Tbsp of sugar for sprinkling on top

* I stuck an old vanilla bean into my bag of sugar so I usually don’t use vanilla extract.

DIRECTIONS Preheat an oven to 400. Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder and salt in a bowl. Whisk to combine, then chill in the freezer while you proceed. Cut the butter into small dice, then chill it as well. I also measured out the heavy cream and chilled it as well too. If you’re using vanilla extract, mix it with the egg.

Since I don’t have a food processor, I dumped in the butter and cut it into the flour with my hands. I suppose the two knife method is to keep you from warming up the dough with your hands, but I rubbed the butter between my fingers until the mixture became the texture of coarse meal.
I added the egg and the heavy cream gradually.

When the dough comes together, put it on a floured counter/cutting board, knead/turn it over a few times, and divide into three or four circles. Sprinkle with sugar and cut into triangles. Or simply roll out and cut with biscuit cutters.
Pop it into the oven for 15 minutes. Eat hot (if possible) with jam, butter, lemon curd, or a combination.

blue berry scone with lemon curd

Leave a Reply

