Chilled Chocolate Chip Cookies

IMG_20140811_181149

She was my best friend’s best friend. My best friend transferred junior year of high school so she had a best friend from her old school, and one from her new school (me). Naturally, I was apprehensive about meeting the “other BFF” and therefore hung onto her every word.

We made chocolate chip cookies and I remember her distinctly saying, “This is a good chocolate chip recipe. The best recipes rest the dough.”

In the end, it worked out. She liked me because I preferred Indiana Jones over Han Solo, and I liked her because she could make cookies. I have no idea what recipe we used, but her words have stuck with me years later. She is now a lady engineer, you know one of them STEM types.

So, after having two salads in two days, I decided to reward my sweet tooth. I looked a several recipes; my old stand by at 101 Cookbooks, David Lebovitz’s Salted Chocolate Chip Cookies, and Smitten Kitchen‘s adaption of David Leite’s recipe. Apparently, Davids have a monopoly on chocolate chip cookies.

In the end, I dialed down the sugar by a 1/4 cup and halved the chocolate and nuts. Too often, I feel like chocolate chip cookies are chocolate chips held together with a cookie glue. And then I had to wait an entire 24 hours.

Ha Ha. No. I baked half the dough after chilling for just an hour, and will bake the rest of it within the next few days.

Chilled Chocolate Chip Cookies

chilled chocolate chip cookie
YIELD: Makes about 18 3-inch cookies

INGREDIENTS:
4 ounces (115g) salted butter, at room temperature
1/3 cup packed (75g) dark or light brown sugar
1/3 cup (75g) granulated sugar
1 large egg, at room temperature
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 1/3 cup (180g) flour
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 teaspoon flaky sea salt or kosher salt
3/4 cup (100g) chocolate chip cookies
3/4 cup toasted nuts, coarsely chopped

DIRECTIONS: In the bowl of a stand mixer, or by hand, beat the butter, brown sugar, and granulated sugar just until smooth and creamy. Beat in the egg and the vanilla.

In a small bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Stir the flour mixture into the beaten butter until combined, then mix in the chocolate and the chopped nuts.

Cover and chill the batter until firm. (It’s preferable to let it rest overnight.)

To bake the cookies, preheat the oven to 300ºF (150ºC). Line two baking sheets with parchment paper or silicone baking mats. If you have a toaster oven, you may only be able bake six at a time.

Form the cookie dough into rounds about the size of a large unshelled walnut or a little less than two tablespoons. Place the mounds evenly spaced apart on the baking sheets, and press down the tops to flatten them so they are no longer domed and the dough is even.

Bake the cookies for eighteen minutes, rotating the baking sheet midway during baking, until the cookies look about set, but are not browned. My top tray was a little toasty so you may want to switch the trays again at the 14-15 minute mark.

Remove from oven and let cookies cool.

IMG_20140811_180132

Leave a Reply

