Peanut Butter Speculoos Cookies

cookiesI had doubts about a cookie recipe without butter; it sounds almost healthy! But how else was I going to eat my Trader Joe’s Speculoos cookie butter? I had been smearing them on Hobnobs, but I had run all out and needed something new for my tea time fix. Averie Cooks came to the rescue with a softbatch cookie butter brown sugar cookie recipe!

Speaking of tea, has anyone else seen this amazing Benedict Cumberbatch bit? My tea regimen is not way this complicated; I like an English Breakfast tea bag with a dash of milk. I usually forget to take out the tea bag.

tumblr_nepzovLI8E1r8ok8bo1_1280A word on cookies. I like soft cookies, but I also like texture. I don’t like crispy cookies (e.g. Chips Ahoy) or melt in your cookies (misnamed candies), though I’ve been known to eat both. My ideal cookie is soft, a little chewy, but with a little crunch so I modified the recipe to fit my tastes, substituting 1/2 of the cookie butter with crunchy peanut butter. I also dialed down the cinnamon and the sugar and kept the salt constant. The peanut butter was also salted. Yum! Salt is amazing!

I think cute cookies are highly overrated, big is beautiful in cookie land so these guys are hefty. One is more than enough for an afternoon snack. To hear more cookie manifesto, check out my chilled chocolate chip cookie recipe.

Peanut Butter Speculoos Cookies

ADAPTED from Averie Cooks

NOTES: My dough was on the dry side and crumbling, but I squeezed a handful together, it held its shape. I think this would be ameliorated if you upped the sweetness to 3/4 cup of brown sugar as suggested by the original recipe, but the cookies scooped just fine.

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup of cookie butter
  • 1/2 cup of peanut butter (I used chunky)
  • 3/4 cup + 2 tablespoons
  • 1/2 cup of brown sugar
  • 1 tablespoon of vanilla extract
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 pinch of salt

DIRECTIONS

Cream together the egg, cookie butter, brown sugar, and vanilla on medium-high speed until light and fluffy, about 4 to 5 minutes. Do not overbeat.

Scrape down the sides of the bowl, and add 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons flour (which is 1 cup minus 2 tablespoons), cornstarch, cinnamon, baking soda, optional salt, and mix until just incorporated, about 1 minute; don’t overmix. The dough will be soft and on the oily side. If it is wet-feeling, add up to 2 more tablespoons of flour, for a total of 1 cup, and mix to incorporate.

Using a medium 2-inch cookie scoop or 1/4 cup measuring scoop, form mounds on a cookie sheet. I used a fork to make the traditional criss cross peanut butter shape. Cover with plasticwrap, and refrigerate for at least 3 hours, or up to 5 days, before baking. I personally love aged cookie dough, it has a better flavor or texture.

Preheat oven to 350F/180C. Place on baking sheet, spaced at least 2 inches apart. Bake for 8 minutes, or until edges have set and tops are just beginning to set, even if slightly undercooked, pale and glossy in the center. Do not bake longer than 9 minutes if you want cookies because they firm up as they cool.

For additional storage instructions please see original blog post here.

One thought on “Peanut Butter Speculoos Cookies

  1. I like strong tea, so I’ve definitely committed the crime of over-steeping my tea. I’ve never considered putting lemon in my Earl Grey though, so I have to try that.

    Also, I hate you; I have the afternoon munchies right now, and pictures of speculoos cookies are not helping. They sound delicious. I would make them, except I don’t have an oven.

Leave a Reply

