Easy Miso Soup

miso soup
When I lived in Taipei, one of my favorite things to eat was miso ramen 未曾拉麵. This was a Taiwanese riff on a Japanese classic. Miso soup, fresh noodles, a soft boiled egg, tofu, fish. It was 50 NTD or about $1.50. Heaven! The only thing preventing me from having it everyday was it’s pesky hours! Anyway, there were numerous times when I walked their in the painful humidity or unceasing rain, only to find them closed.

So, when I saw Steamy Kitchen’s recipe for 10 minute miso soup, I knew I had to try it. Unfortunately, I didn’t have any noodles on hand, but it was a delicious appetizer to our meal. I was planning to add fresh firm-fleshed fish to the soup to make it hardier, but in the end, I substituted a can of salmon. I rinsed it well to remove any residual oil, and broke it into large flakes.

It’s so easy to make, that it could easily become a mainstay for a young professional or college student. My sister told me it was the best thing I’ve ever made, and she does not give high praise lightly (see my french toast recipe.) If you’re unsure what to do with a whole box of miso, Smitten Kitchen has an amazing carrot miso ginger salad dressing. I also has a friend who eats it smeared on carrots…so there’s always that. Dashi keeps indefinitely; the box in the picture above is from a sushi making class I took like five years ago.

If you like miso soup and egg drop, you’ll love this!

Easy Miso Soup

Miso Soup

ADAPTED from Steamy Kitchen and that little noodle shop (you know who you are).

INGREDIENTS

  • 8 cups water
  • fresh or canned salmon (I used a can of salmon)
  • 2 eggs, slightly beaten
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons instant dashi granules
  • 1/4 cup miso paste
  • 1 tablespoon dried seaweed (for miso soup), soaked in water
  • 1 cup cubed tofu (half a pack)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped green onion

DIRECTIONS
Pour the water into a pot and bring to a boil. If using canned fish, rinse it well under water and break into chunks. Whisk instant dashi into the boiling water. Turn the heat to medium-low and add the tofu and fish. Drain the seaweed and add the seaweed to the pot. Simmer for 2 minutes. If you’re using fresh fish, you’ll cook it a few minutes longer. Remember to cut the fish into small chunks, small enough that you can fit a few on your soup spoon.

In the meantime, spoon the miso paste into a bowl. Ladle about 1/2 cup of the hot dashi broth into a bowl and whisk with chopsticks or a whisk to mix and melt the miso paste so that it becomes a smooth mixture.

Turn the heat off, add the miso paste to the pot and stir well. Taste the soup – if it needs more flavor, whisk in another tablespoon or two of miso paste. Finally, stir in the slightly beaten eggs, stir with chopsticks, and cover for five minutes. The residual heat will cook the egg through.

Top with green onions and serve immediately.

Leave a Reply

