Toaster Oven Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Chocolate chunk cookies  The oven at my parents’ house is broken, but I had the baking bug.

So last night, I made 40 chocolate chip cookies in increments of 6 and 7 in the toaster oven. It took me two hours. It was perhaps not the wisest use of my time, but this goes to show that you can make perfectly respectable looking chocolate-y cookies with the humblest of tools.

I didn’t have chocolate chips so I chopped up about a cup’s worth of chocolate. I think it’s more visually appealing to have chunks and specks and swirls of chocolate. Also, I think most chocolate chip cookie recipes have way too much chocolate! The people who ate them didn’t miss the chocolate one bit. Some recipes have 1:1:1 chocolate, flour, and sugar ratio, but I think a little sweetness goes a long way. We gotta keep things classy!

I only had one baking tray that fit in the oven, so I covered a spring form pan with parchment paper and used it as a second baking sheet. I used the bottom of it because it gave me a little more surface area to work with. I was able to back 7 one-tablespoon mounds of dough on a nine-inch springform pan.

IMG_20150202_203533

Why, Natalie, did you use two sheets? Isn’t one enough? A few reasons:

  • removing just baked cookies from a cookie sheet — prime cause of cookie breakage
  • scooping cookie dough onto piping hot cookie sheets — burn notice here
  • waiting a few minutes to remove the finished cookies, and then waiting another few minutes for the sheet to cool — madness

Also, I’ve turned into a chilled dough convert and having an extra tray means I can keep the dough cold. Cold dough means less spreading which leads to a thicker cookie and a better texture. Ideally, I would have aged the dough for 24 hours, but c’est la vie!

Chocolate Chunk Cookies

IMG_20150203_122116

ADAPTED from my earlier chocolate chip cookie recipe. It also contains my manifesto on what is an ideal chocolate chip cookie.

YIELDS about 3 to 3 1/2 dozen 1 tablespoon cookies

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 sticks of butter
  • 3/4 cup of brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup of white sugar
  • 1 cup of walnuts, toasted for five minutes and cooled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 1/2 cups of all purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup of chopped chocolate, I used Trader Joe’s semisweet pound plus bar

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 315F/155C. Yes, this is a lot lower than some other so-called chocolate chip cookie recipes, but they are also baked about five minutes longer.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside in a small mixing bowl.

In a large bowl or Kitchen Aid mixer, cream the butter and the sugar until fluffy. Add the eggs and vanilla extract until incorporated. Gradually add the flour mixture unless you want a flour cloud! Once the dough comes together, stop the mixer and fold in the chocolate chunks and walnuts with a spatula/ spoon.

Scoop 1 tablespoon worth of dough and space them about 1.5 to 2 inches apart. Bake for 18 minutes, rotating at the 9 minute mark.

Leave a Reply

