Alton Brown’s Stinky Dog Biscuits

man dog biscuits

Did you know dogs can count? Well, Zoli the Office Dog can count to two. Every morning, I give him two pumpkin peanut butter dog treats, but yesterday I ran out and I could only give him one. He followed me around the rest of the day, and sat next to me while I ate my lunch. I felt pretty bad.

I was going to wait until the weekend to make him a refill, but a friend had given my roommate some free produce so what was I to do except make more treats. I brushed half of them with fish sauce, and I would recommend skipping it if you have an open kitchen. Even with the fan on, the smell is quite robust. I packed them up last night, and this morning I walked out to the kitchen area and my roommate had lit a scented  candle. Oops.

The dusting of oat flour on top gives them a much prettier appearance than Damn Delicious’ treats. In the pictures, it almost looks like powdered sugar. Zoli loved them, and Chloe who is our very shy other office dog, abandoned her chewie toy to chop on this treat. She enjoyed it in the safe confines of the place under her master’s desk. 

Stinky Dog Treats

IMG_20150224_205440

ADAPTED from Alton Brown

INGREDIENTS
3 cups of rolled oats
1 can of sardines (Alton Brown used ones packed in oil, I used water)
1 egg
1 heaping tablespoon of unsalted peanut butter
1 small sweet potato

DIRECTIONS
Preheat the oven to 350F/180C.

Stab the sweet potato like a serial killer and microwave it for six to eight minutes. My microwave had a baked potato setting so I used that. Remove the potato’s skin and mash. I put it in the freezer for a few minutes to cool it down.

Meanwhile, grind 3 cups of oats into oat flour. Alton Brown said to let it run for a few minutes, but mine was finely ground after a minute. Remove the oat flour from your food processor, and put in one egg, 1 can of sardines, 1 tablespoon of peanut butter, and the now room temperature sweet potato mash.Pulse until combined, four or five times. Next, add 2 cups of oat flour, one cup at a time. Pulse a few times until combined.

The dough will be very wet and sticky. Spread half of the remainder of the oat flour on a counter and scoop the dough out. Sprinkle with oat flour and roll out until 1/4 to 1/2 an inch thick. Cut into strips or shapes. I used the smallest biscuit cutter I had, as well some gingerbread cutters.

Leave a Reply

