Crispy Oven Sweet Potato Fries

IMG_20150301_182013

My roommate makes the most amazing sweet potato fries. They are a mix between candy and crack. And I’m not even a sweet potato fry fan! I know some people prefer sweet potato fries over regular fries, but my fry hierarchy goes from steak frites, with curly fries being a close second, followed by waffles fries/ crisscut fries, and potato wedges dead last. I think sweet potato fries beat out potato wedges. I loved fries covered in garlic or cheese. I love In N Out’s animal style fries when they’re hot; it’s disgusting when it’s cold. I have been recently introduced to sriracha mayo and its cousin gochujang (Korean red pepper paste) mayo. Heaven!

This recipe is from the blog The Art of Doing Stuff, but I’ve made a few tweaks from Karen’s recipe. First of all, I’ve halved it to only one sweet potato, which fills two baking sheets and it more than enough for an appetizer for a group of four. The only time I’d advise four baking sheets is party city, but since these fries are best hot, you’ll have to make them in stages with your friends gathered in the kitchen.

Secondly, you can leave your soaking frites (frites sounds so much fancier than fries) for 24 hours without harm. I think my roommate has left them up to two days, and they still taste fantastic. IMG_20150228_105240

Lastly, these fries are super steamy. I nearly scalded my face when I opened the oven to check fifteen minutes in, and I also set off the fire alarm like three times. Rereading the recipe I noticed that Karen said that the steaming is caused by “crowding” the fries. So, guys, if you’re not feeling too greedy or in a rush, don’t crowd your fries. I don’t think I added enough corn starch to my frites, in the original post, Karen’s fries look whiter.

You can reheat the fries in the toaster oven the next day, but they won’t get as crisp and I think the extra heat caramelizes them so they’re very sweet and chewy…like dessert. IMG_20150301_172758

Crispy Oven Fries

ADAPTED from The Art of Doing Stuff

INGREDIENTS
1 large sweet potato
1-2 Tablespoons of cornstarch
olive oil
salt

1/2 cup Mayonnaise
1/4 tsp Cayenne Pepper (optional)
1 tsp Sriracha Sauce

Peel and cut sweet potatoes into thin fries. Soak in water for minimum of one hour, but preferably for half a day.

Preheat your oven to 425F.

Drain water from bowl and lift fries out by the handful.  Give them a good shake.  They should be dry but still have enough moisture on them to allow the cornstarch to stick.

Put cornstarch in a plastic bag and drop all of your fries in.  Blow a little air into the bag, twist the top and shake it vigorously.  Lift the fries out onto one or two baking sheets. You want them to look powdered but not glue-y.

Coat with Olive Oil.  The more the crispier and less sticking you’ll have, but the less healthy they’ll be.

Bake for 15 minutes then check.  Once bottom of fries are getting crisp, flip them over and cook for another 5-10 minutes. Salt them when they come out of the oven.

Make your sriracha mayo.

Leave a Reply

