Dark Chocolate Frosting

view from up top

Remember that buttermilk raspberry cake I made a few weeks ago? Well, I made it again and put a whole bunch of chocolate frosting on top! I was planning to make Smitten Kitchen’s “I Want Chocolate Cake” Cake, but alas I was out of cocoa powder! I noticed that the cake recipe is very similar to the buttermilk raspberry cake so I figured, why not? I like chocolate raspberries! The one change I did make was omitting the lemon zest. I know some people like lemon and chocolate, but I am not in that number.  

Sometimes I forget how good butter cream frosting is. A lot of frosting have heavy whipping cream folded in, but Deb’s recipe was nice and simple. I frosted the cake the night before and then let it sit in the microwave until morning with no ill effects. The frosting even developed the tiniest crust, just that itsy bitsy amount of resistance when you bite into it! Yum! And the raspberries are like unexpected bombs of tartness and the cake around them is extra moist. I believe it offsets the sweetness of the frosting. Vertical pairing, anyone?

Yea, I just learned that term about food and wine last week, and I’m just throwing it around like a smartypants! Vertical pairing refers to food and wine pairings that contrast, while horizontal pairings refers to complimentary flavors, textures, mouthfeels, etc. Salt. Chocolate. Vanilla. Raspberry. What wine would you pair with this?

Dark Chocolate Frosting

NOTE: I scaled up the original buttermilk raspberry cake recipe a bit. Or you could use the chocolate cake recipe and replace the cocoa powder with flour. Bake for 22-25 minutes. Mine was slightly overbaked, and the rise is also quite wimpy.
gradient frosting
ADAPTED from Smitten Kitchen

INGREDIENTS
2 ounces (55 grams) dark chocolate, melted and cooled (I used Trader Joe’s Pound Plus Dark Chocolate)
1 1/2 cups (180 grams) powdered sugar (sifted if lumpy)
1/2 cup (4 ounces or 115 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature
Pinch of fine sea salt (optional)
1 tablespoons cream or milk (I used 2%)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS:
Place powdered sugar and butter in a food processor and run machine to to mix. Scrape down bowl then process until smooth and somewhat fluffed. Or you can also beat the ingredients by hand or with an electric mixer. It will just be messier. Pour in chocolate, milk and vanilla, beat until combined. Scoop the frosting onto the cooled chocolate cake and swirl it around.Really mound it on and swirl outwards.

It looks delicious, doesn’t it? I topped mine off with just a little more salt!

chocolate cake with pink himalayan salt crystals

2 thoughts on “Dark Chocolate Frosting

Leave a Reply

