Instant Ramen Paella

IMG_20150418_193706
In my original cookbook (download it here), I had an entire section dedicated to instant ramen. Recently, my love for it was reignited when I started watching Anthony Bourdain’s Mind of a Chef with David Chang. In one of the early episodes, David makes some riffs on gnocchi, fideos, and cacio e pepi with instant ramen. He explained that ramen is actually full cooked and then deep fried in oil.

I tracked down the fideos recipe from an old article about David Chang’s magazine “Lucky Peach” and started from there. Fideo is the Spanish word for noodle, and in the recipe, David Chang cooks it with seafood, chorizo, paprika, and a lot of garlicky aioli. He notes that instead of cooking noodles in water, it is treated more like rice or paella.

So I dug into my fridge and found half a cup of unused chicken stock and some andouille chicken sausage. From the freezer, I had a cup of frozen tomato sauce and Trader Joe’s frozen seafood mix.

I defrosted the tomato sauce in the microwave. Meanwhile, I sliced up one sausage and ran a cup of seafood mix under some warm water. In a medium skillet, I fried the sausage and once it was nice and brown, a few minutes, I added the sauce and chicken stock. The sausage gives the sauce a nice kick. I added a pinch of paprika. Then I added the seafood mix and finally a packet of ramen.

Five minutes later, dinner is served!

Instant Ramen “Paella”

ADAPTED very loosely from Lucky Peach Issue 1: Ramen
INGREDIENTS
1 spicy sausage
1 cup of tomato sauce
1/2 cup of chicken stock
1 cup of seafood mix
1 packet of instant ramen, discard seasoning packet (I love Shin Ramen, but this is a great cheaper alternative)

DIRECTIONS
Pan fry sausage in a medium skillet until browned, add tomato sauce and chicken stock and bring to a simmer. Add seafood mix and stir. Add ramen. You might have to break it in half for it to cook more evenly. Cover and stir occasionally. Serve when noodles are soft but still chewy and seafood is cooked through. About five minutes. This will take longer if your seafood is still frozen.

Leave a Reply

