Peanut Butter Smores

open face peanut butter smore

I have a major smore obsession. I love chocolate, I love marshmallows, and I am indifferent to graham crackers. I don’t think I’ve ever eaten a straight up graham cracker, but I do like to use them in crusts. Although, you can definitely go high end with homemade marshmallows, I don’t think it’s worth the price point when the regular stuff tastes like heaven. 

My favorite chocolate bar of all time is ScharffenBerger 41% milk chocolate. It is sweet and creamy with caramel notes. But fancy chocolates like those are best treasured a nibble at a time, not being smashed between a marshmallow and two graham crackers. Usually, I use what’s on hand, which is a few chocolate chips.

peanut butter smore

But the problem with chocolate chips is that they roll around and get lost in the toaster oven and burn. Then the fire alarm is going off, and your roommate is rolls her eyes at your incompetence at life — I have never seen her do this, but if I was my own roommate, which I guess I am, then I would totally roll my eyes at myself.

And no, it’s not good enough to add the chocolate at the end to the golden puffy marshmallow, because it won’t melt.

peanut butter chocolate chip graham cracker

So, why not anchor it down with a sticky coating of peanut butter?

Set the toaster oven to 200 or 250F. Set up your work station of graham cracker halves, marshmallows, peanut butter, and chocolate chips. If you have an appetite, I recommend you make a couple at the same time, because this takes at least five minutes and maybe even ten depending on the potency of your toaster and marshmallows. The Target Pantry ones seemed to melt faster than the Jiffy ones.

Place a graham cracker with a marshmallow on top and place it on a covered tray in the toaster oven. While awesome melty-puffy action is going down, spread some peanut butter on the other half and add several chocolate chips.

Then place the peanut butter chocolate graham cracker in the oven beside the marshmallow, and bake for a few more minutes. The marshmallow should be puffed and golden, and the peanut butter and chocolate will be glossy. Place the peanut butter side on top and squish!

Then devour quickly!

Leave a Reply

