Goat Cheese Pasta with Olives

goat cheese pasta
The French have their mother sauces; I have Smitten Kitchen’s Tomato Sauce with Butter and Onion. It’s my go-to pasta sauce, pizza sauce, sauce for Maxim’s surprise, and infinitely buildable. I’m sure you can add broth to make it into a tomato soup or thicken it up, and serve it as a sauce spooned over rice. I’ve had it with seafood and hot pepper flakes, chicken, ground beef, mushrooms, mixed greens, and in its latest iteration, goat cheese and olives.

In my head, there are two kinds of olives in the world. The nasty little ones of my childhood that occasionally showed up on pizza and looked like black rubber rings in my dad’s toolkit, and the delicious ones that you buy in plastic bags and cups by the salad bar of fancy grocery stores. I am still deeply suspicious of the former, and the latter seems solely reserved for cheese and wine parties. This arbitrary childish division has prevented me from purchasing jarred olives until recently, and I have missed out!

If you haven’t tried Smitten Kitchen’s Butter Onion Tomato sauce, you need to try it now. Although you can serve it with a variety of pasta, I prefer a short tubular pasta with ridges or nooks and crannies to hold onto the sauce.

Goat Cheese Pasta with Olives

YIELDS 2 Servings

INGREDIENTS
1 cup of tomato sauce (Smitten Kitchen’s or I’m sure my roasted tomato sauce will do in a pinch).
1-2 tablespoons of goat cheese, plus a little more for sprinkling
8 ounces of pasta
1/4 cup of olives (about 12)

DIRECTIONS
In a medium pot bring water to boil and cook pasta according to directions.
In a small sauce pan, gradually warm up the tomato sauce, add the goat cheese. Toss with the pasta and mix in the olives right before serving. I like the temperature difference. Sprinkle with additional goat cheese.

Leave a Reply

