Zesty Yogurt Salad Dressing

IMG_20150610_125426 A few days ago I made a beautiful, colorful quinoa salad. I was so excited to blog about it, but unfortunately it made my throat itchy. I’m not sure if the produce was off or phantom mystery allergy, but I’m probably not going to make the salad again. However, I thought I’d still share the dressing because it was easy and amazing! It is a very bright-tasting dressing with a lot of acid from the lemon and vinegar, but also creaminess from the yogurt. The mustard and garlic also add a pleasant kick!

It was so good that I kept tasting it the night before, and I made my friend try it too. I imagine that it would be great as a veggie dip, but I’ll also be using it with my salads in the future. 

The dressing is from this New York Times quinoa salad recipe. It had me by kalamata. IMG_20150610_125017

Bright and Zesty Yogurt Salad Dressing

ADAPTED from NYT.

YIELDS 1 serving

INGREDIENTS
1/2 tablespoon freshly squeezed lemon juice
1/2 tablespoon red wine vinegar
1 teaspoon Dijon mustard or spicy brown mustard
1 minced garlic clove
salt to taste
1 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons of Greek yogurt
freshly ground pepper

DIRECTIONS
If you’re packing it for lunch. Simply put all the dressing ingredients into a small tupperware of your choice, and shake to combine. Otherwise, whisk together the dressing ingredients in a small bowl. If using yogurt, thin out if desired with a tablespoon of water.

 

Leave a Reply

