Oopsy! Shrimp Udon Stir Fry

udon stir fry

When I opened the fridge the other morning, I discovered a horrible mistake. Instead of putting my frozen shrimp in the freezer the night before, it was completely defrosted in the fridge! This goes to show that past-bedtime shrimp and egg scrambles can be a dangerous thing! But that was okay, I immediately began to fantasize about shrimp scampi in cream sauce.

Dinner time rolled by. Surprise! Surpsie! I was out of pasta, and I was HANGRY. (The cream went into a caramel sauce). The idea of waiting 30 to 40 minutes for a pot of rice to cook was too long, and I found a brick of frozen udon in the fridge. If you’re an organized person, you can probably do this stirfry in 15 minutes flat, but for me it was more like 20-25 minutes.

While I soaked the udon to defrost it and set a small pot of water to boil, I chopped up half an onion, about a cup of napa cabbage, a zucchini, and a carrot. In a large frying pan, I pan fried the shrimp for two minutes per side and set them on a plate. I added a little more oil, and threw in all my veggies plus a few handfuls of spinach.

Meanwhile, the water had come to a boil so I boiled the udon for one minute and then let it drain in a strainer.

Within five minutes, the vegetables had cooked down in the high heat. I added a dash of sesame oil and three tablespoons of soy sauce. I tossed the udon noodles and shrimp in, and voila! Dinner is served!

Shrimp Stir Fry with Udon

ADAPTED loosely from Food & Wine

INGREDIENTS
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
1/2 pound large shrimp, shelled and deveined
1/4 pound skinless, boneless chicken breast, thinly sliced
1 cups chopped Napa cabbage
1/2 small onion, thinly sliced
1 carrot, thinly sliced on the bias
1 cup of baby spinach
1 zucchini, quartered and sliced
3 tablespoons soy sauce
1 teaspoon Asian sesame oil
18 ounces frozen precooked udon noodles, thawed
Kosher salt and freshly ground pepper

DIRECTIONS
In a skillet, heat 1 tablespoon of the vegetable oil. Add the shrimp and stir-fry over moderately high heat until curled, 2 minutes; transfer to a plate. Add 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil to the skillet. Add the chicken and stir-fry until white throughout, 3 minutes; transfer to the plate with the shrimp.

Add the remaining 1 tablespoon of oil to the skillet. Add the cabbage, onion, carrot, zucchini, and spinach and stir-fry for 4 minutes. Add soy sauce, sesame oil, shrimp and chicken.

Meanwhile, cook the udon in a pot of boiling water for 1 minute. Drain and add to the skillet. Stir-fry over high heat until heated through. Season with salt and pepper and serve.

One thought on “Oopsy! Shrimp Udon Stir Fry

Leave a Reply

