Millionaire’s Shortbread aka Fancy Twix

millionaire's shortbread

Last week’s caramel sauce was cruising towards it’s expiration date and there is only so much that you can eat with a spoon. I contemplated breaking out my ice cream maker and making some sort of caramel swirl ice cream, but I bought a quart of cookie butter ice cream on Saturday and devoured it by Tuesday. I knew I had a reason for not keeping ice cream in the house. Even though I tried to keep my serving size small by eating ice cream out of a ramekin, I just got an embarrassing number of refills. I needed to get rid of my caramel sauce, and by “getting rid” I mean, persuading others to eat it. Millionaire’s Shortbread or caramel chocolate shortbread seemed like a good alternative.
caramel sauce

There were a lot of different recipes online, but I chose Once Upon a Chef‘s recipe. It was part of a contest so I thought the standards must be pretty high.

Although, it was delicious and devoured by appreciative people, I’m not entirely satisfied with the shortbread recipe. It didn’t have the simultaneously magic quality of being melt in your mouth but also crumbly. And someone also told me it reminded him of cornbread. I may substitute another recipe in the future. However, I do want to note that you should definitely line your pan with tin foil or parchment paper with two to three inches of overhand, because you’ll be pouring hot caramel and chocolate over the finished shortbread and if it’s not lined, you’ll have a delicious mess when you try to remove it.

I also didn’t use her caramel recipe, because I had my own. Just judging from the ingredients (hello, condensed milk!), the caramel would be a bit thicker than mine. But mmmm, maybe someday I’ll make dulce de leche millionaire’s shortbread. Because my caramel is quite a bit runnier than hers, it doesn’t fully set and thus when I drizzled the melted chocolate on top, the two layers tended to combine. But sometimes a mistake results in a chocolate caramel swirl.

melty shortbread

ADAPTED from Once Upon a Chef
INGREDIENTS

  • 9 by 9 pan of shortbread
  • 3/4 cup of caramel sauce, warmed (my recipe here)
  • 6 ounces of dark chocolate, chopped

DIRECTIONS
Pour warm caramel sauce over warm shortbread. Let it set in the freezer or fridge for fifteen minutes. My caramel cools into a gel-like texture that is still sticky.

Melt the dark chocolate over a double boiler or in 15 second intervals in the microwave. Once the chocolate is half melted, stir until it melts completely. It will take a minute, but slowly but surely, it will work.

Drizzle chocolate over caramel shortbread, smooth with a spatula. The caramel and chocolate layers may swirl. Let it cool in the fridge for at least one hour. Serve and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

