Peanut Butter Cup Double Chocolate Cookies

peanut butter chocolate cookies

I haven’t been posting much on the food blog, because I haven’t been using recipes that I feel like sharing. Last week, I made David Lebovitz’s Deviled Grilled Chicken on a stove top, and it’s messiness outweighed its tastiness. Even with a splatter guard, I burned myself a few times when I basted the chicken. I made a knock off version of Costco’s quinoa salad which sent me to Urgent Care. Apparently, I have a food allergy now! Woohoo!

I have written earlier about my belief that most chocolate chip cookies are too sweet and too chocolate-y and everyone should halve the amount of sugar in cookies, and they would be more delicious. Then I had a big, thin, marbled chocolate chunk cookie and it rocked my world. Because sometimes you want a cookie, and sometimes you need a modified chocolate bar.

Although I found several recipes for marbled cookies (the secret is the addition of cocoa powder), I ended up adapting Smitten Kitchen’s salted chocolate chunk cookies purely for the follow description:

I found that for the same amount of butter, Toll House cookies use much less sugar, much less flour, a bit less baking soda, less salt and less chocolate. I reiterated this my husband, who I like to torment with boring recipe babble as often as possible, and he — proving once again that he always listens, swoon — said “wouldn’t that just mean that there’s more cookie batter?” Duh, RIGHT.

In the end, I did cut out about 1/4 cup of sugar and reduced the chocolate by 2 ounces. And then I added peanut butter cups.

Peanut Butter Double Chocolate Cookies

Yields about 18-24 cookies

Adapted from Smitten Kitchen

double chocolate dough

INGREDIENTS

  • 1/2 cup (4 ounces or 113 grams) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons (25 grams) granulated sugar
  • 2 tablespoons (25 grams) turbinado sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed light or dark brown sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • Heaped 1/4 teaspoon (or, technically, 1/4 + 1/8 teaspoon) fine sea or table salt
  • 1 3/4 cups (220 grams) all-purpose flour
  • 6 ounces of chocolate (I used a combination of chips and the last bit of a pound plus chocolate bar)
  • 8-10 mini peanut butter cups
  • Flaky sea salt, to finish

DIRECTIONS

Heat oven to 360°F (180°C) and line a baking sheet with parchment paper or a silicon baking mat.

In a medium bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, and salt, and set aside. In a large bowl, cream the butter and sugars together until light and fluffy, about 5 minutes. Add egg and vanilla, beating until incorporated, and scraping down the bowl as needed. Add the flour mixture at a low speed until just mixed. Fold or stir the chocolate into the dough.

Scoop cookies into 1 1/2 tablespoon mounds, spacing them apart on the prepared baking sheet. Sprinkle each with a few flakes of sea salt. Bake for 11 to 12 minutes, until golden on the outside but still very gooey and soft inside. Out of the oven, let rest on baking sheet out of the for 5 minutes before transferring a cooling rack.

While cookies are cooling, slice the peanut butter cups in half and press a half cup gently into the warm dough.

Initially, I scooped the dough with heaped tablespoons and I had a small amount left over which I rolled into a log and froze. I can attest that the fresh dough and frozen dough were equally delicious.

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cup Double Chocolate Cookies

Leave a Reply

