Spaghetti Squash Spinach Fritters with Feta and Bacon

spaghetti squash fritters

When I was in high school, I read a poem about frittata recipe which used leftover spaghetti. It sounded fun and whimsical. I carried that belief that frittatas where a spaghetti egg dish with cheese into college where I was bluntly corrected by a man who scoffed through his mustache. Naturally, it was a short story class.

After my spaghetti squash debacle, I revisited this fake frittata idea and discovered a wealth of spaghetti squash fritter recipes. The one I chose finally is a hybrid between My Recipes and Julia’s Album. I added feta because I still had some on the fridge and I didn’t have a lot of Parmesan. You’ll notice that there’s no additional salt in this recipe because the bacon and cheese are both salty. But if you’d like, feel free to 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Julia cooked her fritters with olive oil, but I had some bacon grease leftover…so I did both.

All in all, they were delicious but not as crunchy as I thought they would be. I expected something like hash browns, and while there were crispy end bits, the texture was a bit soft. But I loved the flavor! The feta goes off like little bombs in your mouth, and it also tastes heavily of bacon! Mmm.

This is by no means a “healthy” recipe, and it’s the ugliest thing I’ve made in a while, but it sure was yummy! I ate three for lunch today, and they were surprisingly good reheated in the toaster oven.

fritter batter

Spaghetti Squash and Spinach Fritters with Bacon and Feta

ADAPTED from My Recipes and Julia’s Album.

YIELDS 12-15 3-inch fritters

INGREDIENTS
2 eggs
1/3 cup of flour
3 cups of cooked spaghetti squash
3 cups of spinach, sauteed in a dry pan until wilted
1/3 cup of parmesan
1/2 cup of feta cheese
3 strips of bacon, cooked and chopped
2 green onions, chopped

DIRECTIONS
Squeeze out any excess water in the squash and spinach. Run a knife through the spinach to break it up a bit.

With an electric or stand mixer, beat together eggs for a minute until bright yellow and voluminous. Add flour and beat to combine. You should have a thick glue-y mixture. Add all remaining ingredients, squash, spinach, cheese, bacon, and onions. Stir to combine.

In a large pan, heat over medium. Once hot, add 2 tablespoons of olive oil. Add heaping tablespoons of the raw mix into the pan, two inches apart. Then use a spatula to flatten them. I fit four in a pan. You can keep the finished ones warm in a toaster oven set to 300 if you like.

Allow them to cook undisturbed for two minutes before flipping, and allowing to cook for two minutes more. Julia lets them sit in a hot skillet for a few more minutes, but I transferred them to the toaster oven.

Leave a Reply

