Update: Printable Recipes!

I’ve been wanting to make my recipes more easily accessible. Personally, I like to print out new recipes so I don’t get flour and eggs all over my laptop and I can also jot down adjustments quickly in the margins. While many websites use plugins, it’s not an option for WordPress.com blogs.

I stumbled upon this old blog post which lays out five options for making it easier for readers to print recipes, lists, tutorials, etc. Of the five options, I ended up using a free service called Print Friendly. You can find it at the bottom of each post. I have labeled it with a handy dandy red arrow. Just click on it, and you’ll be able to print out the blog post without weird spacing and links.
printpdf
Now what’s the difference between Print & PDF and the regular ol’ print option? Well, if I use the WordPress default “print” button, I get this hot mess. It includes all the links.
print
I really like the Print Friendly version, because you can also remove images. It’s not a perfect fix, but hopefully it makes things easier!
removeimages

If you’re a blogger and want to make your website more accessible, Print Friendly has a button tutorial here.

Leave a Reply

