October Week 3 Update: Pumpkin Spice Lattes!

groceries 10 17

The grocery total this week was 21.91, and I skipped the farmer’s market. After a brief perusal, none of the vegetables appealed to me, and I have a dozen kiwis and persimmon as well as the spaghetti squash from last week. This week’s menu includes spaghetti squash fritters with bacon and feta, home fries, and pumpkin spice lattes. On Thursday, I made chicken in red wine sauce and have been eating it with quinoa. I also have a serving of olive pasta left. So, excluding breakfast, I only need to figure out ten meals. I also have a few balls of pizza dough in the freezer, and the makings of my favorite butter onion tomato sauce in the pantry.

receipt 1017

The groceries included:
seeded baguette 1.79
spaghetti 0.99
tofu 1.49 (a last minute impulse buy)
rigatoni 0.99 (also an impulse buy)
kerrygold salted butter 3.19 (I had a roommate who was very particular about his butter, and now I sometimes buy fancy butter for eating, and bulk buy costco butter in one pound blocks for baking)
heavy cream 2.99
bacon 5.49
feta 2.99
pumpkin spice 1.99


The pumpkin spice latte was a delicious way to start the day. I read on Pinterest that you can freeze whipped cream so in the name of science, I froze six clouds of sweetened whipped cream. I also froze the remainder of the cream into two tablespoon blocks to add to soups and sauces, as well as the pureed pumpkin into tablespoon hearts. Will let you know tomorrow how it goes!

I had buttered baguette for breakfast, but was feeling brunch-y by the lunchtime. While I love Smitten Kitchen’s home fries, I am always surprised how long it takes to make them. I was sure that I’d be able to finish in forty minutes (I was roasting spaghetti squash at the same time), but it was closer to fifty. They do look great, though!

homefries

Leave a Reply

