Rent Week Chow Mein

The other day I had a craving for dal. I had a strong lentil game a few years ago that coincided with my love affair with my instapot, but I could not remember my go-to recipe. Therefore, when I made this chow mein recipe I knew I had to write down the sauce recipe.

What do you do when you have a head of sad, yellowing broccoli and some week old roasted veggies, half a pound tofu, and eggs? Usually, I’d reach for fried rice. But I didn’t have any leftover rice and there were six ounces of wheat noodles in the freezer.

The combination of broccoli, red bell pepper, and a sweet soy chili sauce gave me bastardized pad kee mao vibes.

Rent Week Chow Mein

Adapted from budget bytes.

SAUCE INGREDIENTS

1/4 cup soy sauce (I usually use the Menmi soup base instead of soy sauce)
1 tbsp sesame oil
1 tbsp chili sauce (sambal)
2 tsp brown sugar
1 tbsp water
1 tsp corn starch

NOODLE INGREDIENTS

2-3 tablespoons of oil, divided
1/2 pound of tofu or other protein, pressed, and cubed
1 clove of garlic, minced
1 head of broccoli, cut into florets
1 egg
1 1/2 cups of mixed vegetables (red bell pepper, kale, zucchini, garlic)

DIRECTIONS
Mix the sauce ingredients and whisk until smooth. If you’re stickler, mix the water and corn starch together until a smooth thin paste and then add the red of the ingredients.

Bring a pot of water to boil. Add noodles. When the noodles are one minute from finished cooking, add the broccoli florets. Drain and rinse with cool water.

In a wok, heat a generous dollop of oil (2-3 teaspoons)and fry the tofu. Let the tofu sit undisturbed a few minutes until it has a golden crust, then turn. Move tofu to a paper towel lined plate.

Add more oil and saute the garlic until it gets some color. Add the broccoli florets and pan fry for a few minutes until it’s a little crispy. Add the mixed vegetables until heated through.

Finally add the noodles and tofu. Pour the sauce over and stir until well-mixed. Push the noodles to the side, crack an egg in the empty space in the pan. Scramble the egg until it’s almost set and then mix back into the noodles.

Leave a comment